Analogies

unspooling yarn : stripping my clothes
you : me
your words : rose’s thorns
arsenic : my love for you
your knuckle on my cheekbone : lightning on something sharp
a choker : your hand on my neck
winter : sleepless nights
my favorite blanket : your arms around me
black coffee : vanilla sex
sugar on tongue : kisses
a caterpillar in a cocoon : me wrapped around your finger
unclasped watch : letting go of your hand
waiting for you : a doctor on call
blackened bruises : a ripe, juicy plum

Leave a Reply

