Shane

I still think that there are only two kinds of people in this world: the ones that weep when the world is in slumber, and the ones that sleep well because they know they are loved. And you, you sleep so well at night because you know you are loved.

You know what, you’re so frustratingly funny because you always tease me about being single my whole life and how I’m going to end up as a spinster, but you don’t even have the slightest idea that the reason why I just won’t commit to anyone is because of you. I don’t have my whole future planned out, I must admit, and most of the time, I don’t even know what I’m doing, but it doesn’t matter to me because your future is more important than mine, because you are more important than me. I’m never going to settle until I know you’re capable of standing firmly on your own two feet and believe me, that’s lightyears away. 

I think about you everyday, constantly worrying about your wellbeing and how I’m going to be able to protect you and nurture you from all the snares of this godawful life. The truth is, the whole world’s going to kiss your ass and tell you what you want to hear and I’m telling you now, don’t listen to them, not one of them. Be your own severest critic, your best friend and your only enemy. Forget the men in priestly robes and nurture your own mind. And remember, above all, that you are loved.

Happy 17th birthday, Shane. I love you, little brother-man. Above my life. Above all lives.

Leave a Reply

